Climate Crisis, Designer Babies and Pandemics: Challenging the Techno-Utopianism of the Genetically Engineered Age

Flyer for Climate Crisis, Designer Babies and Pandemics: Challenging the Techno-Utopianism of the Genetically Engineered Age with pictures of Bill McKibben, Stuart Newman, and Marsha Darling​

Join the conversation via Facebook Live HERE or on Organic Consumers Association's Facebook page
 

Tuesday, September 22 at 9am PT | 11am CT | 12pm ET | 5pm UK


 

Don't Miss This Webinar!

Climate Crisis, Designer Babies and Pandemics:
Challenging the Techno-Utopianism of the Genetically Engineered Age

 

Author and activist Bill McKibben, evolutionary biologist Stuart Newman, and social theorist Marsha Darling consider the common threads between COVID-19, the looming climate crisis, centuries of race-based oppression, and proposals for "designer babies.” Each demonstrates how misguided scientific theory and experimentation can create inequalities and disproportionately harm vulnerable populations.

Join them to explore the limitations of “techno-utopianism,” how social movements can redirect science and technology toward a just and sustainable future, and how we can preserve our humanity – and diversity – in a genetically engineered age.

Co-sponsored by Organic Consumers Association, Alliance for Humane Biotechnology, Center for Genetics and Society, and Friends of the Earth.

Join the conversation on Tuesday, September 22 at 9am PT | 11am CT | 12pm ET | 5pm UK. You can find the event at this link or on Organic Consumers Association’s Facebook home page.